🏆 Awards & Competitions

In order to work towards the achievement of WCCE objectives such as the promotion of high technical and ethical standards of civil engineering worldwide and the encouragement of students to follow such career, WCCE has established different awards and competitions.

🏆 Jose Medem Excellence Award

WCCE awards Civil Engineering Excellence Awards through its Jose Medem Award. The first presentation of the Award was made in 2010 during our 5th General Assembly of WCCE. The awardee, civil engineer as defined by the WCCE member society of the nation in which he or she resides is to be selected based on his or her noteworthy contributions to the practice, theory, or public status of civil engineering. Nominees should possess appreciable experience in the profession, international standing as well as significant educational accomplishments. 

Read more ...

🏆 World Civil Engineering Olympiad

The World Civil Engineering Olympiad - WCEO aims to bring civil engineering into secondary schools and colleges, drawing their interest to become civil engineers. Similarly to other disciplines’ International Olympiad schemes (Mathematics, Biology, etc), WCCE has designed a set of events regarding several disciplines within the scope of the practice of civil engineering. Such initiative was presented during WCCE’s 14th General Assembly held in Lisbon in September 2019, becoming endorsed to be replicated globally.

Read more ...

🏆 RIBAGUA Best Paper Award

Since 2013 RIBAGUA journal addresses the scientific contribution of Iberoamerican investigators and practitioners in the Spanish and Portuguese languages regarding water issues. To encourage participation from young investigators, the RIBAGUA Best Paper Award was launched. This award is supported by IAHR and WCCE and awards anually the best contribution to RIBAGUA in two categories: best technical paper and best scientific paper; both with strong original research dealing with significant water issues in Ibero-America. The award consists of an award certificate. The Award recipient is selected by the RIBAGUA Editor and the Editorial Board.

Read more ...